Championship Honours


1867, 1869 (equal) 1870, 1893,1896, 1898, 1901, 1902, 1905, 1908, 1912, 1919, 1922, 1923, 1924, 1925, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1935, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1946, 1949(Equal), 1959, 1960, 1962, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1968 and 2001.

Yorkshire’s 33 County Championships have come mostly during four decades:

THE 1900s

Yorkshire won the title four times. The side, led by Hawke, included great players such as George Hirst, David Denton – who scored 2,000 runs in a season four times – and Wilfred Rhodes – who took 3,598 wickets for the County.
Yorkshire were also Championship runners-up four times – in 1904, 1906, 1907 and 1909, and they were third in 1903.

THE 1920s

The Championship was won four times during this decade also. The great players in this side were the openers – Herbert Sutcliffe and Percy Holmes, who still hold the record for the highest opening stand of 555 against Essex.
Left-arm spinner Wilfred Rhodes was still playing, as was George Macaulay, who took 100 Championship wickets in a season 10 times.

THE 1930s

Many of the side from the 1920s helped Yorkshire to their most successful era, in which they were Champions seven times – missing out only in: 1930(3rd) 1934(5th) and 1936(3rd).
Along with Sutcliffe and Rhodes from the 1920s, other players were dominant during the 1930s: Hedley Verity, another great left-arm spinner; Bill Bowes, an international opening bowler, and Len Hutton, one of the greatest batsmen ever to play cricket.

THE 1960s

Yorkshire won the Championship six times – twice under the leadership of Vic Wilson and four (from 1963) under Brian Close. That team included England fast bowler Fred Trueman, who took 307 Test wickets; all-rounder Ray Illingworth, who captained England in 31 Test, and opening batsmen Geoff Boycott.