The Clubs History


The Yorkshire County Cricket Club was founded on January 8 at the
Adelphi Hotel, Sheffield. The first official county match was played at The Oval on June 5 and 6 against Surrey, ending in a draw.
Captain was Roger Iddison.

A players’ strike: George Anderson, George Atkinson, Roger Iddison, Joe Rowbotham and Ned Stephenson refused to play
against Surrey after a dispute over the action of a Kent bowler, their colleague in an all-England match against Surrey.
Anderson never played again for Yorkshire.


Yorkshire won all of their seven matches and their first, unofficial, County Championship.


Lord Hawke was appointed Captain. He brought much-needed authority and discipline to the side.
Lord Hawke was one of the great influences on the development of the cricket. He was captain for 28 years, later becoming Yorkshire President and President of MCC.

Yorkshire played their first game at Headingley, now the County
headquarters and one of the major Test grounds in England.


A major reorganization of the Club. Sheffield’s hegemony shifted to Leeds.


Yorkshire amassed the highest score in county cricket – 887 against Warwickshire at Birmingham.


Yorkshire lost only two Championship matches of 80 played.


Yorkshire went through the season unbeaten.
They bowled Northamptonshire out for the lowest aggregate score in
English cricket of 42 (27 and 15).

Lord Hawke resigned as Captain.


Yorkshire won the first post-war Championship with debuts from Herbert Sutcliffe, Norman Kilner, Abe Waddington and Emmott Robinson.


Rhodes retired in his 53rd year. He took 73 wickets and scored 478 runs in his final season.
JM Kiburn wrote in the Yorkshire Post: “He had bowled at Grace, and he bowled at Bradman. At 20, at 30, at 40 and at 50 he had shown himself master of his world, and his kingdom was never usurped.”


Holmes and Sutcliffe put on a record opening stand of 555 against Essex at Leyton.


Len Hutton recorded the highest individual score for England – 364 against Australia at The Oval. He was only 22.


Yorkshire won the first post-war Championship with debuts for Alec Coxon, Vic Wilson, Ted Lester, Gerald Smithson and Johnny wardle.


Bob Appleyard became the first bowler to take 200 wickets in his first full season.


Yorkshire sacked Johnny Wardle, then the world’s best bowler of his type, because of “his general behaviour”. Ronnie Burnet, the Second X1 captain, who was then 39, was elected first-team captain and won the Championship in 1959.


Brian Close was made Captain, and won the Championship in his first


Brian Close, skipper through the highly successful 1960s, was sacked as Captain. There were the first signs of the long-running unrest in the Club.


Bramall Lane, Yorkshire’s first County ground, was closed.


Ray Illingworth, as team manager, replaced Chris Old, the Captain, at the age of 50.


Yorkshire finished bottom of the 17-strong County Championship for the first time – but won the John Player later National) League) for the first time.
Geoffrey Boycott, one of Yorkshire’s most successful players, was not offered a new contract. There was a public outcry, the General Committee resigned, and Boycott eventually was reinstalled as a player – having already been elected to the Committee.
Brian Close became Chairman of the Cricket Committee.


Team Manager Ray Illingworth was removed from his post, and Boycott was made Vice-Captain.


Yorkshire, under new Captain Phil Carrick, led the Championship table in mid-summer, and won the Benson and Hedges Cup.


Carrick resigned with a letter to the Committee urging the recruitment of an overseas professional.


Play for the first team was limited to Scarborough and Headingley. A majority of members supported a plan to build a new ground near Wakefield.


Yorkshire won their first Championship since 1968. Captain David Byas retired – then joined Lancashire for one season.


Yorkshire relegated from Division 1 of the County Championship, but won the Cheltenham and Gloucester Trophy.
Financial crisis forced extraordinary general meeting, at which General Committee was replaced by a Board of Management.


Led by Craig White, the Club regained promotion to Division I of the County Championship.
In December Yorkshire completed the purchase of Headingley Cricket Ground from Leeds CF&A, thus owning their own premises for the first time in 142 years.
Colin Graves, Chief Executive for three years and chairman of the Club’s leading sponsor, Costcutter, was replaced as Chief Executive by Stewart Regan, but retained his place on the Board.